Enhancing the quality of life for all Queensland communities


2017 election of the 


Nominations are hereby called for election to the 

IPWEAQ Board. 

IPWEAQ is an incorporated association under the Associations Incorporation Act 1981 (Queensland) and is a separate legal entity to IPWEA. IPWEAQ is also a registered charity with the ACNC (Australian Charities and Not-For-Profit Commission).

The IPWEAQ Board comprises eight members: the President, Vice President, the four Branch Presidents and two additional members from the membership at-large.

For more information about IPWEAQ, please read the IPWEAQ Constitution and the 2016 Annual Report. Members interested in a position on the board may also request a copy of the IPWEAQ Board Members' Manual.

IPWEAQ has the following insurance policies in place:

  • Public & Products Liability - $20,000,000
  • Association Liability including Professional Indemnity, Directors & Officers (D&O) and Employment Practices - $10,000,000 for any one claim and $20,000,000 aggregate. There is a $1,000,000 limit for employment practices. 

The Nomination form must be received by the IPWEAQ CEO by 4:00pm Monday 5 June 2017. Nominations cannot be received after this date/time.

Each candidate must be nominated by two members. Both the candidate and the two nominators must be financial members of IPWEAQ.

In the event there is more than one nomination for any position, a postal ballot will be conducted by the IPWEAQ CEO. Only financial members of IPWEAQ will be eligible to vote.

Candidates in contested positions may submit their biography or election platform up to 200 words together with a photo for publication and circulation with the ballot paper. 

The sequence for counting ballot papers will be: the President, Vice President, Board Member at-large (two positions) then Branch Presidents. Once a candidate who has nominated for multiple positions has been elected to a position in this order, he/she will not be considered for subsequent positions and those votes will not be counted. The successful candidates will be those who receive the highest number of votes.

Ballot papers must be received by the IPWEAQ CEO by 4:00pm Monday 7 August 2017. Results will be announced in the September issue of Engineering for Public Works.

Successful candidates will be declared elected at the 2017 Annual General Meeting to be held in Townsville, 26 October 2017. 

For more information, please contact the IPWEAQ CEO, Leigh Cunningham.