Enhancing the quality of life for all Queensland communities


Paid delegates at the 2016 IPWEAQ state conference held in Brisbane 8-10 November 2016 will have access to the conference proceedings (podcasts) including all keynote presentations and all sessions in all 12 streams. Access will be available January 2017If you did not attend the conference as a paid delegate, you are able to subscribe to the conference proceedings for $600 (members) and $900 for non-members.

Interviews with Delegates

Keynote Interviews 

Stefan Hajkowicz
Principal Scientist in strategic foresight at CSIRO

IPWEAQ Stefan Hajkowicz interview

Julie Mitchell
Chief Engineer, TMR

IPWEAQ Julie Mitchell interview

Dwayne Honor
Manager Design
Bundaberg Regional Council

IPWEAQ Dwayne Honor interview

Excellence Award Winners

Engineer of the Year, Paul Keech 

Gladstone Regional Council

IPWEAQ Engineer of the Year Award Winner

President's Award, James D'Arcy

South Burnett Regional Council

IPWEAQ President's Award Winner

Innovation Award 

Highly Commended 

Department of Transport and Main Roads

Cape York Region Package

IPWEAQ Innovation Award Highly Commended
Overall winner for the 2016 IPWEAQ Excellence Awards
Sunshine Coast Council 
Nambour Youth Activity Precinct and RSL War Memorial & Innovation in Public Works Award. 
IPWEAQ Multiple Winners - Sunshine Coast Council

Highly Commended

Ipswich City Council and BMD Constructions (Urban)

Redbank Plains Road

IPWEAQ Projects 5-10 Million Highly Commended

Woman in Engineering 

Angela Fry, GHD

IPWEAQ Woman in Engineering Award Winner

Technical Officer of the Year, Steven Forbes

Western Downs Regional Council

IPWEAQ Technical Officer Award Winner

Projects $2 million to $5 million 

Highly Commended

Quilpie Shire Council and Brandon & Associates

Quilpie Shire Council Works Depot

IPWEAQ Projects 2-5 Million Highly Commended

Road Safety Award
Western Downs Regional Council
Dalby CBD Road Safety Review

IPWEAQ Road Safety Award Winner

Water Projects Over $10 million & Water Innovation Award

South Burnett Regional Council

Kingaroy Wastewater Treatment Upgrade

IPWEAQ Water Projects over 10 Million & Water Innovation Winners

Exhibitor Interviews

Please click on the logos to listen to interviews with our valued exhibitors


Young Engineer of the Year 

Craig Heck, Scenic Rim Regional Council

IPWEAQ Young Engineer Award Winner

Works Supervisor of the Year, Michael Eastwell, Toowoomba Regional Council

IPWEAQ Works Manager Award Winner

Projects $2 million to $5 million Winner

Noosa Council, Tod Consulting and Marine and Civil Maintenance

Curing a cancer patient: Munna Point Bridge

IPWEAQ Projects 2-5 Million Winner

Projects $5 million to $10 million Winner

Maranoa Regional Council and Roadtek

Pickanjinnie North Road Upgrade Project – government partnerships in action

IPWEAQ Projects 5-10 Million Winner

Water Projects  $5 million to $10 million
Logan Water Infrastructure Alliance
Alfred Street pump station upgrade
IPWEAQ Water Projects 5-10 Million Winner