Enhancing the quality of life for all Queensland communities

Raad Jarjees

Branch President

Technical Lead - Infrastructure



0447 787 905

SEQ Branch Committee

Gleb Kolenbet (Vice President)

Principal Integrated Transport Engineer, Moreton Bay Regional Council

Weena Lokuge 

Senior Lecturer, University of Southern Queensland 

Larry Griffiths

Principal Engineer, Department of Transport and Main Roads

Michael Pattinson

Road Construction Program Leader, Logan City Council

Chris Mantell (YIPWEAQ)

Senior Civil Engineer, Cardno

Sarah Hausler

Senior Associate, McCullough Robertson Lawyers

Jo O'Brien

QLD Program Manager


Jessica Kahl (Ambassador)

Civil Engineer, Aurecon

SEQ Branch President's Report
March 2020

I am disappointed to announce the postponement of our SEQ Branch conference scheduled for Caloundra 28-29 May. New dates to be advised shortly but likely to be September.

And our SEQ Social event at the Plough Inn, 26 March is now also cancelled however we will schedule a new event later in the year when appropriate.

Team IPWEAQ is planning to participate in the 2020 MS Brissie to the Bay, Sunday 14 June presuming this event continues as planned. Register online with Team IPWEAQ and use the discount code BTBIPWEAQ to receive a 10% discount on the registration fee. Once registered, please contact Johanna.Vanling@ipweaq.com for your complimentary Team IPWEAQ bike jersey!

To complement your Team IPWEAQ bike jersey, we also have IPWEAQ navy polos (Engineering for Public Works) and white polos (Every Community Needs an Engineer). Please view our available merchandise here and contact Johanna Vanling to place an order.

Nominations are also open for the 2020 IPWEAQ Excellence awards! There is a new category this year for coastal engineering. All nominees are featured in the Commemorative Book please take a moment to review the people and projects delivering exceptional outcomes for Queensland communities. It is our pleasure to coordinate the awards program, now in its eighteenth year, to recognise their achievements.

I’d also like to invite universities in SEQ to nominate their final year students studying engineering and related disciplines to participate in the 2020 Futures Challenge. Finalists will receive a complimentary registration to attend #IPWEAQ20 valued at more than $2,000. This offers an excellent opportunity for students to engage with our community and gain knowledge and understanding of engineering for public works. The winner is announced at the gala excellence awards ceremony, 11 November 2020 on centre stage with excellence awards winners.

We also now have a membership category for Student and invite full-time civil engineering students and related disciplines eg urban planning, design and surveying to join us for the duration of their university studies. Membership is complimentary however proof of current enrolment is required upon joining and each year for renewal. Apply online to join our vibrant community! 

Raad Jarjees

SEQ Branch President

Jessica Kahl

IPWEAQ Ambassador, SEQ

Civil Engineer at Aurecon based in Brisbane. Jess is our first Ambassador, nominated by CQ University to receive a scholarship to attend the 2016 IPWEAQ conference in Brisbane. She impressed us with her commitment to making the most from the opportunity, engaging with speakers and delegates and regularly posting useful program updates on social media.