Enhancing the quality of life for all Queensland communities

Engineering the Future

Emerging Leaders

Conference Program

Young Engineer of the Year

Buddy Program


Career Pathways

Next Generation


Madison Stahlhut 


Joshua Flanders


Jessica Kahl


Benjamin Ash

Emerging Leaders Series

David Sexton, Principal Environmental Engineer and Scientist at Engeny Water Management. (September 2018)


Ashlee Adams, Principal Project Manager - Project Services at Toowoomba Regional Council, YIPWEAQ Deputy Chair and CQ branch representative for the Membership portfolio. (June 2018)

Aaron Meehan, General Manager - Infrastructure, South Burnett Regional Council. (March 2018)

Dwayne Honor, Project Manager - Bundaberg CBD Revitalisation & CHAS

Churchill Fellow, BET (CIVIL), BBA

Bundaberg Regional Council. (March 2017)

Do you work with an emerging leader? Nominate a colleague for recognition in the Engineering for Public Works journal. Contact Belinda Smith for more information.

Register for our Buddy Program!

Would you like to provide guidance to our younger professionals at the 2019 IPWEAQ Annual Conference in Brisbane, 22-24 October 2019? Please complete the form below!

We invite you to introduce your YIPWEAQ buddy to colleagues and assist them with choosing sessions based on their career aspirations.

Thank you for contacting us regarding the YIPWEAQ program. We will revert to you as soon as possible.

Oops. An error occurred.
Click here to try again.
If you are interested in designing and developing thriving communities for future generations, a career in public works is for you! Discover more about engineering the future with ground-breaking solutions to some of the world’s most pressing issues. Consider a career in public works engineering in a technical or management position.

Futures Challenge

Congratulations Mark Tomarchio representing USQ, winner of the 2019 Futures Challenge! Mark was presented with his award by the 2018 Futures Challenge winner, Madison Stahlhut of GHD.

Young Engineers of the Year

Haydn O'Leary (2018) Aaron Meehan (2017), Craig Heck (2016), Ellie Johnson (2015), Dwayne Honor (2013), Nathan Cunneen (2012)

Nadia Marks, Director, People & Capability OR Belinda Smith, Director, Marketing & Communications